About Us

About Franklin Municipal Court

The Franklin Municipal Court commenced operation in 1952 with the Honorable J.T. Riley being elected the first Judge. Judge Riley served as Municipal Judge from 1952 through 1969. The Honorable John B. Tracy was elected Judge in 1970 and served until his resignation in 1985 when he became Warren County Probate Judge. The Honorable James D. Ruppert was appointed Judge in 1989 and was re-elected for three consecutive terms and retired at the end of 2005. The current Judge, Rupert E. Ruppert, was elected Judge and commenced office on January 1, 2006.

The Franklin Municipal Court is committed to providing the citizens of Franklin a safe and viable community and is committed to excellence in providing fair, accessible and timely resolution of alleged violations. The Franklin Municipal Court is a Court of limited jurisdiction, with jurisdiction over all violations within the Franklin Municipal Code. In addition, the Franklin Municipal Court also handles state offenses involving misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor crimes, infractions, landlord tenant law and civil matters. The Judge of Franklin Municipal Court is also empowered by the State of Ohio to perform marriage ceremonies.

Gross misdemeanors are such crimes that may carry a maximum of one year in jail and such offenses include, but are not limited to, operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs of abuse, domestic violence, theft, assault and various other state and municipal crimes. Infractions are acts that are prohibited by law, but are not legally defined as crimes, such as parking citations, traffic violations and other non-traffice citations. The Court also has civil jurisdiction that includes landlord tenant cases and claims which do not exceed $15,000. The Court has a Small Claims Division which handles civil complaints up to $3,000 and the parties are not generally represented by counsel. Since January of 2006, the presiding Judge has been the Honorable Rupert E. Ruppert. The Court staff includes the Judge, bailiff, security officer, prosecutor, probation officers, the Clerk of Court and the Clerk of Court's staff. Use the links at the left for more information about the Judge, Prosecutor, Probation and Clerk of Courts.

Franklin Municipal Court Staff

Meet The Team

Judge Ronald Ruppert

Ronald Ruppert

Clerk of Courts Sabrina Spence

Clerk of Courts
Sabrina Spence

Prosecuting Attorney Steven Runge

Prosecuting Attorney
Steven Runge

Chief Probation Officer Katie Perdue

Chief Probation Officer
Katie Perdue

Chief Bailiff Frank Hensley

Chief Bailiff
Frank Hensley

Magistrate Greg Demos

Greg Demos